How to nominate

Making a nomination

Any APRA AMCOS or AMC member can submit nominations in any/all of the 14 categories (with a limit of 1 nomination per category).

Unless otherwise noted, all categories of the Art Music Awards are open to all genres and practices of art music, including but limited to; contemporary classical, contemporary jazz, notated composition, improvised music, digital music, sound art, and experimental practice.

You cannot self-nominate. This includes organisations/people you work for, represent, or who work for you.

You must provide nomination details & a short statement outlining why you feel the work, individual, organisation, or performance is worthy of this award; the Nominee will provide the required assessment material.

Note the eligibility requirements for each category:

  • Work of Year categories (single Australian composition first presented to the public in 2023)
  • Performance of the Year categories (performance of a single Australian work in 2023)
  • Excellence categories (for activity in 2023)
  • Luminary Awards (for sustained contribution demonstrated within the period, 2019-2023)

For the full list of eligibility requirements, please read the rules and guidelines.

Nominations for the 2024 Art Music Awards are now closed.


Materials submissions for nominees

All nominations are passed onto the nominated individual/organisation via email and the Nominee will be invited to submit the required assessment materials. A Nominee can only submit once per category. If they have received multiple nominations in a single category, they must choose which nomination to proceed with.

All assessment material requirements are listed in each award category (see Rules of Nomination & Award below) and will be detailed on the submission portal.

Please Note: For submissions using Indigenous content (such as language, titles, narratives or themes) supporting documentation must be supplied showing consultation and permission from the appropriate community/communities.



All submissions are checked for eligibility and then passed on for assessment by an expert panel.

Each Annual Award has its own 3-person panel of experts overseen by the Annual Awards Chair.

All Luminary Awards are assessed by a single committee of 5 industry experts from across Australia, overseen by the Annual Awards Chair.

APRA AMCOS and AMC are committed to ensuring a diversity of viewpoints are represented in our judging panels across gender, genre, geography, generation, and culture. The list of all judges (in aggregate) is made public after assessment is completed.



For the Annual Awards, four finalists are selected in each category and announced ahead of the ceremony.

For the Luminary Awards, no finalists are announced; the winners are announced during the ceremony.



Winners of all categories will be announced at the 2024 Art Music Awards ceremony. Details about to be announced closer to the event.

The Annual Richard Gill Memorial Distinguished Services Award will also be presented at the 2024 Art Music Awards ceremony, at the discretion of the Boards of Directors of APRA and of AMC.